What is a Developmental Disability?

Violet Lotus

Developmental Disability

Developmental disability is a common diagnosis these days. One in six children, 15%, are currently being diagnosed with a disability or delay.

There are four main types of developmental disorders: nervous system disabilities, sensory related disabilities, metabolic disabilities and degenerative disorders.

Open Hands

Nervous System Disorders

These are birth defects that affect the functioning of the brain, spinal cord, and nervous system, which can influence intelligence and learning.

Open Hands

Sensory-Related Disability

Sensory-related developmental disabilities diagnosis as a birth defect that interferes with the normal function of a body’s ability to sense the world around it.

Open Hands

Metabolic Disorders

This group of functional birth defects affects a person’s metabolism, which is the way the body builds up, breaks down, and otherwise processes the materials it needs to function.

Open Hands

Degenerative Disorders

Infants born with degenerative disorders appear normal at birth, but then lose abilities or functions due to this disorder.

Violet Lotus

How to know if your child has a developmental disability?

Concerned about your child reaching the appropriate milestones for his/her age? 

Check Therapy for Developmental Disabilities in Texas.

Please download our Developmental Milestones chart here.


 Our Success Stories

Patient Success Story: Camden

Patient Success Story: Andrew